Reclaim Open Learning

better online learning for higher ed



This gallery showcases the entrants to, and winners of, the Reclaim Open Learning Challenge – an effort to surface innovators who are building the future of higher ed using technology and practices that are open like the web. Although the contest officially closed August 2, 2013, we will continue documenting ongoing innovation in this area, so please submit yours!


The following five projects were chosen by a distinguished panel of judges including Cathy Davidson (HASTAC), Joi Ito (MIT), Nishant Shah (Luneborg University and Center for Internet and Society, Bangalore), Audrey Watters (techno-badgerings), Dan Atkins (University of Michigan), Caroline Woolard (Artist), and Paul Kim (Stanford University).

Winners received a $2000 honorarium and were invited to present at a summit on Reclaiming Open Learning at UC Irvine on September 26-27, 2013.

digilit phonar-ed ds106 jaaga femtechnet